Page 32 of 32

Re: Bug Reports

PostPosted: Fri Sep 10, 2010 1:25 am
by RavenWorks
Is it normal that the game now seems to return you to the start of the floor you were on any time you hard-quit the program and do 'resume'? It seems like since taking on the ability to multitask, it's given up the habit of saving in case of unexpected quit (at least more often than on every new floor..)

I haven't tested very thoroughly yet, but it seems like every time that I open the game and find myself at the title screen, upon resume I'm playing a floor I remember all over again.. if I'm the only one this is happening to, I could test it more thoroughly, but with how seemingly consistently it happens to me I was wondering if it was already a known problem?

Re: Bug Reports

PostPosted: Fri Sep 10, 2010 9:10 am
by Nighthawk
If I hard-quit the app from the Home screen(s), resuming works as it should. However...

CD, I can replicate the behavior RW is describing:

1) Launch any other application (multi-task aware or not, doesn't matter - I used Twitter (MT-aware) and TED (non-MT-aware) to test).
2) Soft-quit that app and launch a new game of RT. Move around a little in RT.
3) While in RT, multi-task directly to the other app you opened.
4) While in other said app, force quit RT.
5) Soft-quit other app, re-launch RT, and Resume Game. You'll be back at the start of the floor.

Nice catch, RW, didn't find this one in testing.

Re: Bug Reports

PostPosted: Fri Sep 10, 2010 5:23 pm
by CommanderData
Nighthawk wrote:If I hard-quit the app from the Home screen(s), resuming works as it should. However...

CD, I can replicate the behavior RW is describing:

1) Launch any other application (multi-task aware or not, doesn't matter - I used Twitter (MT-aware) and TED (non-MT-aware) to test).
2) Soft-quit that app and launch a new game of RT. Move around a little in RT.
3) While in RT, multi-task directly to the other app you opened.
4) While in other said app, force quit RT.
5) Soft-quit other app, re-launch RT, and Resume Game. You'll be back at the start of the floor.

Nice catch, RW, didn't find this one in testing.


That's an interesting one! Maybe a variation of this accounts for the mysterious "deaths" that one or two people have reported as well. There must be another OS message that we're missing out on during the instant task-switch. Thankfully the autosave at the start of the floor prevents too much game loss, but I need to figure this out! :ugeek:

Re: Bug Reports

PostPosted: Tue Oct 12, 2010 1:32 pm
by HexenGarou
Iphone 4 firmware 4.1 not jailbroken

been playing a while, on a 3g now on my 4. I ran into a pile of bones, and woke it up, ran a little while being chased by the bones. Found myself in a hallway facing an Aquator, so I pull out a staff of cancellation and zap the bones, and poof! iphone home screen. I get back into the game, and now if I try to wake the bones I am kicked off the game. I tried rebooting, and it still happens. I bet it was the staff zapping that did it.

Re: Bug Reports

PostPosted: Tue Oct 12, 2010 3:10 pm
by CommanderData
HexenGarou wrote:Iphone 4 firmware 4.1 not jailbroken

been playing a while, on a 3g now on my 4. I ran into a pile of bones, and woke it up, ran a little while being chased by the bones. Found myself in a hallway facing an Aquator, so I pull out a staff of cancellation and zap the bones, and poof! iphone home screen. I get back into the game, and now if I try to wake the bones I am kicked off the game. I tried rebooting, and it still happens. I bet it was the staff zapping that did it.


Hey that is interesting!!! And you are sure that was a wand of cancellation used? In the end, it sounds like your previous bones' pack is corrupted. Corrupt bones packs have been seen randomly but there has been no obvious trigger for it found yet. If that was caused by zapping in your case... maybe I can simulate this and get to the bottom of the problem finally :mrgreen:

If you recall anything else, please let me know. I'll be looking into this along with some other enhancements, bug fixes, and small changes I have planned for the game.

Re: Bug Reports

PostPosted: Tue Oct 12, 2010 6:17 pm
by HexenGarou
Some more info:
I am using the king Leonidas of Sparta secret
I have the following stats
74 of 86 hp, 11 of 18 str, ac 10, 2619 gold
Floor 13 master rogue xp 2412
Stuff:
+2+2 longsword of jabberwocky slaying (equipped)
11 +0+0 darts
+2 Spartan cuirass (ac 7) not equipped
7 food
Ring of kings (emerald) equipped left hand
4 pots demolition (white)
3 pots poison (vermilion)
1 pot gain str (turquoise)
3 scrolls remove curse
1 scroll sleep
2 scrolls identify
1 scroll vorpalize weapon
Staff of striking 15 spruce
Staff of cancellation 5 balsa
I find a restore str pot and use that and the gain str before trying the bones, so far no luck. If that's all the useful info I can give you I'll start a new save :) cheers and thanks for such an awesome app, keep up the good work!

Re: Bug Reports

PostPosted: Wed Oct 13, 2010 10:35 am
by Nighthawk
Too late to try this now, but that Ring of Kings -- I've seen it play havoc every once in a while. Maybe try it both ways, with and without an equipped RoK. I doubt there will be a difference.

Re: Bug Reports

PostPosted: Sat Nov 13, 2010 1:14 am
by Nighthawk
Couple more bugs - don't know if anyone mentioned these in previous posts in this thread (I'll add more as I find them on my deep dive):

1) When you've maxed out your strength @ 31(31), then put on a Ring of Add Strength (+3, for example), then take it off, you lose three (current) strength - 28(31).

Edit 1:
2) Not a bug, but there are various capitalizations between "You disarmed Xxxxx Xxxx" and "You are caught in a(n) xxxxx xxxxx". Bear Trap is the one that comes to mind most.

Re: Bug Reports

PostPosted: Sat Nov 13, 2010 9:22 am
by CommanderData
Nighthawk wrote:Couple more bugs - don't know if anyone mentioned these in previous posts in this thread (I'll add more as I find them on my deep dive):

1) When you've maxed out your strength @ 31(31), then put on a Ring of Add Strength (+3, for example), then take it off, you lose three (current) strength - 28(31).


Nighthawk- you are right, that is one I've seen before. I think its due to the artificial cap I have at 31 (because the old rogue capped it there). What should probably happen is- potions cannot bring you above 31, but a ring can. In your example you would be magically inflated to 34 strength. But drinking a potion cannot add to that. Then when you take it off, you correctly reduce to 31 again.

Sound interesting? Maybe include a super special damage bonus for people who manage to boost their strength above 31 :mrgreen:

Re: Bug Reports

PostPosted: Tue Dec 07, 2010 12:01 am
by ironcashew
CommanderData wrote:
HexenGarou wrote:Iphone 4 firmware 4.1 not jailbroken

been playing a while, on a 3g now on my 4. I ran into a pile of bones, and woke it up, ran a little while being chased by the bones. Found myself in a hallway facing an Aquator, so I pull out a staff of cancellation and zap the bones, and poof! iphone home screen. I get back into the game, and now if I try to wake the bones I am kicked off the game. I tried rebooting, and it still happens. I bet it was the staff zapping that did it.


Hey that is interesting!!! And you are sure that was a wand of cancellation used? In the end, it sounds like your previous bones' pack is corrupted. Corrupt bones packs have been seen randomly but there has been no obvious trigger for it found yet. If that was caused by zapping in your case... maybe I can simulate this and get to the bottom of the problem finally :mrgreen:

If you recall anything else, please let me know. I'll be looking into this along with some other enhancements, bug fixes, and small changes I have planned for the game.


I had a issue with a pile of bones a a few weeks ago. It was still a pile and I walked over it... instant home screen. Open up RT and I'm still on the level and I walk on to the bones, same outcome. I repeated this 10 times, then I decide to forget about the bones and carried on to play a normal game.